Complete List of Databases (A-Z)
Below are databases that our library subscribes to. They contain loads of information not necessarily found through the Internet. You’ll need your library card to log into most of these databases.
Ancestry Library Edition (In-Library use only) provides genealogical and historical research capabilities. With more than 5 billion names in over 4,600 databases, includes census, military, court, land, and probate records; vital and church records; directories; and passenger lists.
A to Z World Travel provides in-depth travel information covering City Facts, Embassies and Consulates, Immunization Summaries, Passport and Visa, Transportation, Restaurants, and Nightlife, as well as National Cuisine, Recipes, Climate, and Language. It currently offers 202 world city travel guides and will be adding new cities on a regular basis.
Auto Repair Reference Centre – covers more than 35,000 vehicles from 1945 to present. Content includes nearly 857,000 drawings and step-by-step photographs, approximately 99,000 technical service bulletins & recalls issued by the original equipment vehicle manufacturer, over 158,600 enhanced wiring diagrams for easy viewing and printing, specifications & maintenance schedules, Labor Time Guide & Estimator, AutoIQ. Video Tutorial [4:30 minutes]
BC Codes (In-Library use only) – The BC Codes 2006 include the BC Building Code, the BC Fire Code, and BC Statutes & Regulations.
BC Laws – BC Revised Statutes and Consolidated Regulations
BCStats is the central statistical agency of the Province of British Columbia. They offer data services, business and economic statistics, labour and social statistics, population stats, and survey and analysis.
Campus Program – University, college and employment resources that guide you from high school to your dream job.
Canadiana provides access to the digital collections of Canada’s libraries, museums, and archives. It’s a great single source for Canada’s documentary heritage for researchers, students, and the general public. Now surpassing the 60 million-page mark, it opens the door to books, journals, newspapers, government documents, photographs, maps, post cards, sheet music, audio and video files about our nation’s heritage.
Canadian Encyclopedia is a comprehensive information source about Canada and Canadians, for students, the general public and scholars. Includes articles written by experts, as well as web links and multimedia clips. The web site also includes links to the Youth Encyclopedia of Canada and Encyclopedia of Music in Canada. No library card is required to access these resources on the Internet.
Canadian Genealogy Centre links to the online genealogical services of Library and Archives Canada.
Canadian Periodical Index (Q) provides a wealth of Canadian and international periodical literature, including the Globe & Mail. The database provides full text articles for almost 250 periodicals and indexing for more than 650
Children’s Learning Centre featuring interactive game style screens for Language Arts, Math, Science and Social Studies. Based at primary grades level.
ClickLaw – online legal information service for low-income British Columbians. ClickLaw connects you to the reliable information and tools you need to resolve your legal problems.
Coast News Online – Free digital access to 37 years of the Coast News and Sunshine Coast News, 1945-1989, courtesy of the Sunshine Coast Museum.
Consumer Reports Complete Ratings and recommendations on appliances, cars & trucks, electronic gear, and much more.
DataBC provides easy access to public BC government data, applications and web services. Access to reliable, authoritative data gives citizens and businesses the raw material to make informed decisions and create opportunities. Its geographic services can help you to map and analyze data.
EBSCOHost – Search more than 10,000 popular and academic magazines, reference books, plus images, covering all subject areas, from current events and history to the arts and sciences. Many Canadian titles are included. Narrow results by date, subject, publication, etc. Video Tutorial [2:25 minutes]
Explora Canada – Information for students of all ages on a wide variety of topics, from history and current events to science and technology. Search a variety of sources such as magazines, encyclopedias, primary source documents and more.
Explora Primary Schools – A research interface for K-5. Simple search that quickly delivers relevant results including articles, essays, and primary source documents to help students feel successful in their research. Easy-to-browse categories organized by popular topic to give students research ideas. Topic overviews that provide students with a starting point for research.
Gale Business Plan Handbooks – A compilation of business plans developed by small businesses throughout North America.
Gale Courses – Gale Courses offer patrons access to hundreds of instructor-led online courses covering everything from health and wellness to creative writing, computer programming, GED test preparation and much more.
GreenFILE is a free database with an environmental focus, containing accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond.
Hobbies & Crafts Reference Centre is a full text database which includes a collection of core, proprietary articles covering over 140 topics, as well as magazines, books and video that focus on hobbies and crafts and is available in high-quality PDF format. Video Tutorial [5 minutes]
InstantFlix – Watch award-winning shorts, features, and documentaries from more than 50 countries. Streaming movies available on all Internet-enabled computers, tablets (including iPad and Android), smart phones through the Web browser, and on Roku and Xbox.
JusticeBC provides general information on criminal and family law in British Columbia, including special sections addressing the particular needs of victims, witnesses, family members, accused etc., and many links to family law resources and services provided by government.
KnowBC (In-Library use only) includes the Encyclopedia of British Columbia Online, and includes thousands of entries, photos, illustrations, and multimedia covering BC-related information.
Library Press Display – Instant access to over 4000 newspapers from 100 countries in 60 languages.
Mango Languages Each Mango lesson is focused on practical, common conversation skills and includes instruction on vocabulary, pronunciation, grammar, AND culture. Lessons are developed by native-speaking teachers who understand the nuances of the language and the culture. Also available as an iPhone or Android app!
MasterFile Premier – General reference full-text articles from hundreds of books, encyclopedias, and magazines. Includes popular magazines such as Maclean’s, New Yorker.
NFB Online – Enjoy documentaries, animations, alternative dramas and interactive productions on the web.
NoveList – Looking for a good book? Want to find book reviews? Desperate to find other authors that are similar to your favourite? Check out NoveList, a database of books and authors, recommended reading lists, book discussion ideas, and reviews. Video Tutorial [5 minutes]
OneClickDigital – A collection of more than 4,000 downloadable audiobooks from Recorded Books, including 100 Canadian titles from Maple Leaf Audio. These audiobooks are all simultaneous use, with no holds or waitlists. Download titles to your home computer, or to a mobile device using the OneClickDigital app.
Points to the Past – Free access to nearly 200 million pages of digital historical content, including newspapers, periodicals, manuscripts, and declassified documents.
PressReader – PressReader offers you unlimited digital access to 5000 of the world’s leading newspapers and magazines. Choose from full-version, current-day content in 60+ languages from more than 100 countries.
Small Business Accelerator is curated by professional business librarians and is a reliable gateway to freely available business information, education, and assistance that is both current and trustworthy.
Small Engine Repair Reference Center includes: ATVs, commercial mowers, farm tractors, generators, motorcycles, marine (boats), outdoor power equipment, PWC (personal watercraft/jet ski), snowblowers, snowmobiles, tillers and other small engines. Video Tutorial [3 minutes]
Statistics Canada – the official source for Canadian social and economic statistics and products.
TumbleBook Library is an online animated, talking picture books collection which teaches kids the joy of reading in a format they’ll love. TumbleBooks are created by adding animation, sound, music and narration to existing picture books in order to produce an electronic picture book which you can read, or have read to you.
VSIS Online contains vehicle safety and inspection standards and related BC legislation. (In-Library use only)
World Book Encyclopedia – thousands of articles, pictures and videos.
- World Book Info Finder: Video Tutorial [22:04 minutes]
- World Book Reference Center: Video Tutorial [15:52 minutes]
- World Book for Kids: Video Tutorial [ 13:43 minutes]
- L’Encyclopédie Découverte: Video Tutorial [4:45 minutes]
World Book for Kids is the premier reference website developed especially for young students. It features an intuitive user interface, thousands of easy-to-read articles packed with stunning illustrations, videos, interactive maps, and a wealth of engaging games and activities.
Zinio – Online magazines that you can download for free and read on your computer, tablet or smartphone.