Board Members

Our Library is run by its Members

The Gibsons and District Public Library Association operates under terms laid out in the provincial Library Act.

Every adult library card holder is a member of the Public Library Association and is eligible to vote in the annual election of trustees. Trustees serve two-year terms, and they are not paid. Any member of the library may run for the board. Trustees may not serve more than 8 consecutive years on the board.

  • Governance and Staffing

The library board consists of nine elected trustees, plus one Sunshine Coast Regional District Director (appointed by the SCRD from the areas served by the Library) and  a liaison from the Town of Gibsons. The Board is responsible for planning, policy, the annual budget and expenditures, and for hiring and supervising the Library Director.

The Library Director is our only full time employee and manager. The rest of the staff work part-time and belong to Local 391 of the Canadian Union of Public Employees.

GDPL supports the Position Statement on Intellectual Freedom of the Canadian Library Association.

  • Nominations Package

When filling board member vacancies,  eligible nominees must be:

.         18 years of age or older;

.         a current member of the Gibsons & District Public Library Association;

.         a resident of The Town of  Gibsons, Electoral Area D (Roberts Creek), Area E (Elphinstone),  or Area F (West Howe Sound).

Completed nomination forms can be submitted to the Library.  Candidate packages, including nomination forms, are available here.

  • Board Meetings

The board usually meets on the second Monday of each month at 6:45 p.m. Meetings are open to the public, but please check for date and time changes at the Library. There are no meetings in July and August.

Our Current Trustees (showing year first elected)

Matt Thomson, Chair  (2011)
Robert Flux, Co-Vice Chair (2016)
Alison Sawyer, Co-Vice Chair (2016)
Janet Hodgkinson, Trustee (2015)
Ted McNicol, Trustee (2017)
Janine Young, Trustee (2017)
Marah Farmer, Trustee (2018)
Robert Bennie, Trustee (2018)
Joyce Bradbury, Trustee (2018)
Lorne Lewis, SCRD Representative
Silas White, Town of Gibsons Representative