Board Members

Our Library is run by its Members

The Gibsons and District Public Library Association operates under terms laid out in the provincial Library Act.

Every adult library card holder is a member of the Public Library Association and is eligible to vote in the annual election of trustees. Trustees serve two-year terms, and they are not paid. Any member of the library may run for the board. Trustees may not serve more than 8 consecutive years on the board.

  • Call for Nominations

The Annual General Meeting will be held at 10 am on March 5, 2022 on Zoom. Please contact Heather Evans-Cullen for the link. Everyone is welcome.

The GDPL Board is seeking nominations for trustees to fill two-year term positions, commencing March 5, 2022.

To be eligible the nominee must be:

  • 18 years of age or older;
  • a current member of the Gibsons & District Public Library Association;
  • a resident of The Town of  Gibsons, Electoral Area D (Roberts Creek), Area E (Elphinstone),  or Area F (West Howe Sound).

Completed nomination forms must be received at the Library by January 22, 2022.  The election will be held at the Annual General Meeting on March 5, 2022.  Candidate packages, including nomination forms, are available at the library.

  • Board Meetings

The board usually meets on the second Monday of each month at 5:15 p.m. Meetings are open to the public, but please check for date and time changes at the Library. There are no meetings in July and August.

Our Current Trustees (showing year first elected)

Janet Hodgkinson  Chair  (2015)
Alison Sawyer, Co-Vice Chair (2016)
Robert Bennie, Co-Vice Chair (2018)
Robert Flux, Trustee  (2016)
Sue Armstrong Trustee (2020)
Tim Southam, Trustee (2018)
Joyce Bradbury, Trustee (2018)
Mike Wilson, Trustee (2019)
Trevor Lavender, Trustee (2019)

Mark Hiltz, SCRD Liaison (2020)
Aleria Ladwig, Town of Gibsons Liaison (2018)